• Central Jersey, NJ

  • Detroit, MI

  • Glendale Heights, IL

  • Los Angeles, CA

  • Jersey Shore, NJ

  • Long Island-Queens, NY

  • North Jersey, NJ

  • Orlando, FL

  • Philadelphia, PA

  • Staten Island, NY

  • Virginia, VA

  • Washington, DC


  • Brampton, ON

  • Mississauga, ON

  • Montreal, PQ

  • North York, ON

  • Scarborough, ON

  • Toronto, ON

  • Vaughan, ON

  • York, ON

  • Windsor, ON

  • Winnipeg, MB


  • London, UK


  • Westchester, NY

  • Chicago, IL

  • Bolingbrook, IL

  • Markham, ON

The North American Basketball Association, or NABA for short, is an organization promoting the sport of basketball for the Filipino-American communities in Canada the United States and Great Britain. Composed of 26 participating City Delegations (currently 23 members and 3 guest teams) and headed by Commissioner Ron Damasco M.D., the premier tournament event for NABA is held annually on Labor Day Weekend with host cites rotating between the Canadian and USA members.

The Executive Council, appointed by the Commissioner himself, is composed of the following: Dr. Sonny Albano as Deputy Commissioner for the United States, Frank Pendon as Deputy Commissioner for Canada, Larry Albano and Gani Gregorio as Executive Advisors for the USA and Canada respectively, Rizza Valera as Secretary, Martha Cabarios as Treasurer, Willie Paderon as Budget & Financial Administrator, Nello Clutario as Game Scheduling Officer, Edgar Tojino as Liaison Officer and Dr. DV del Valle as Youth Development and Technical Committee Officer.

NABA tournaments currently use a format that divides players into 11 age divisions: Tykes (coed under 11), Peewee (males under 13), Damsels (females under 14), Bantam (males under 15), Juniors (males under 17), Girls (females under 17) Juveniles (males under 20), Men's Open, Women's Open, Seniors (males over 35) and Masters (males over 45). Other NABA sponsored tournaments asides from the Labor Day mega-event, include the Greater Toronto Area NABA and the Eastern United States Seaboard NABA, both tournaments usually played in the early Spring.

What started in 1987 as a loose association of 4 teams playing in an Invitational Tournament, NABA has now grown over the years to 26 participating city delegations with an impressive 207 teams in 2013. NABA 2010 held at Jersey Shore was also marked for the first time by the participation of a team from Europe: the London Controllers. NABA 2012 marked the debut of a team from the West Coast: Los Angeles-Maharlika as well as the launching of the Volleyball Tournament with 3 divisions: Mens, Womens and Coed. NABA continues to grow with each year as more city delegations apply for membership.

This website was launched in June 2011 as a means to keep our members and supporters updated on recent developments regarding the NABA. Among other things, you will find here the Official Tournament Rules & Regulations, the latest announcements from the Commissioner's Blog Page, a multimedia collection of images and videos through the years, website links to member delegations and the list of major sponsors. For city delegations who want to apply for NABA membership, there is a form that you can download here.

free hits
Track My Website